Hot in the City

Ustabe, I wanted to hibernate during the coldest part of winter. Now the heat has put me in a stupor that only a 2 hour post-work nap will alleviate.

Soon I’ll either have to move to a more temperate region or hire someone to turn me every so often so I don’t get bedsores.

Or perhaps I’m just old. But speaking of hot, they’ve gone crazy from the heat in Quartzsite, AZ:

The far western Arizona town of Quartzsite was in disarray Monday after the town council ousted the mayor from power and declared a state of emergency, all over an online video that shows a woman being arrested.

Mayor Ed Foster told The Associated Press on Monday that the town council held a last-minute meeting that was closed to the public Sunday night, declaring a state of emergency in the 3,600-person town just east of the California city of Blythe.

The council’s declaration put police Chief Jeff Gilbert in charge, making Foster the “deputy chief executive of nothing right now,” he said. It also allows the five-member council to meet without public notice and suspend all public comment at the meetings until they declare the state of emergency over.

Or this is a premature launch of the GOP’s plans for bringing back ReaLAMErica (as envisioned by Queen Sarah I).

3 Comments

Filed under Lazy Latte Sipping Islahomo

3 responses to “Hot in the City

  1. B^4

    For some reason, this popped into my head while I read the linked article:

    The people meeting in counsel may judge, but no one is to receive more than a hundred blows.

    Stay cool, chum!

    • jscottg

      It is really hard, after a life time of mocking deep south states as the hotbed of giibbering lunacy, to have to start mocking western states.

      But I think I can manage.