“You couldn’t spare I 10,000 dollars for a small mansion, could you?”

The only thing better than a cobra on Les Twits is a group of Democrats avec Le Snark:

The impetus for this moment of perfection [via TPM]:

At a town hall meeting in Polk County, Wisconsin earlier this year, Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WhIny) was asked whether he’d vote to cut his $174,000 annual salary. Duffy sort of hedged, and went on to talk about how $174,000 really isn’t that much for his family of seven to live on.

[…]

“I can guarantee you, or most of you, I guarantee that I have more debt than all of you. With 6 kids, I still pay off my student loans. I still pay my mortgage. I drive a used minivan. If you think I’m living high on the hog, I’ve got one paycheck. So I struggle to meet my bills right now. Would it be easier for me if I get more paychecks? Maybe, but at this point I’m not living high on the hog.”

Part of Duffy’s measly little paycheck goes to pay for a 2-bedroom vacation house. Because, you know,  a second house is absolutely essential to Life, Liberty and the Purfuit of Juftice.

Also via TPM, WiGOP tried to pull the video because … um … his speech was a special secret just for people who were at the meeting they’re a bunch of hellbound pieces of shit.

1 Comment

Filed under Greed, Misguided Self-justification, ReaLAMErican Hero

One response to ““You couldn’t spare I 10,000 dollars for a small mansion, could you?”

  1. B^4

    This is a real Marie Antoinette moment.

    When is this cobag eligible for recall?